Fixed Navigation Bar

Friday, November 09, 2007

The Newbery Medal

Those of you who frequent libraries with your kids may be familiar with the distinctive Newbery Medal stamped on award-winning books. When it was first conceived by the American Library Association in 1921, the medal became the first award for children’s literature in the world. The award is named for John Newbery, a British bookseller in the 18th century, who was among the first to market children’s literature. Some of the more well-known Newbery winners include Johnny Tremain (1944); The Island of Blue Dolphins (1961); A Wrinkle in Time (1963); Sounder (1970); Sarah, Plain and Tall (1986); and Holes (1999).

Don’t Miss …Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, author of the 1992 Newbery-Medal-winner, Shiloh, will present “Shiloh and Other Stuff” on November 16 at 7 p.m. in the Board Auditorium of the Fairfax County Government Center, 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax. Age 8 and up. For details and to reserve a seat, call 703-324-8428 or e-mail

No comments: